Cosmetology school is where it all begins when it comes time to preparing to get your cosmetology license. Before you can pursue your dream, you need to pass this state test.
Becoming a licensed cosmetologist in Colorado requires completing 1,800 hours of training (or 60 credit hours) at cosmetology schools approved by the Colorado licensing board. The licenses are issued by the Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure. The office will issue your cosmetology license after you’ve completed your training hours, submitted your application for examination, and passed the exam. You can find more information about requirements and the exam on the office’s site.
In Colorado, cosmetology refers to a wide range of activities including various hair, nail and skin care activities, and health and safety. Approved cosmetology programs will offer a curriculum incorporating best practices and prepare you to take the exam. Review the Barber and Cosmetology Practice Act to see a list of cosmetology activities.
If you are pursuing a license for the first time, then you must apply for a license by examination. PSI administers the cosmetologist examinations through training centers throughout Colorado. You can submit your application to PSI and schedule your cosmetology exam time online, by phone or by mail. Your application must be approved by the state board before you can schedule the exam.
If you currently hold a cosmetology license from another state or a foreign country, and would like to transfer it to Colorado, then you can apply for a license by endorsement.
To transfer a license from another state, you submit your application for endorsement and the application fee to the Colorado licensing organization. You also need to have verification of your license sent directly to the Colorado office by the state regulator that issued your license.
For foreign license holders, you’ll submit an application for endorsement and the fee, have verification sent to Colorado from your country’s regulator, and then undergo a screening interview. During the screening interview, you’ll be quizzed on your credentials and experience to determine if you need additional training.
Whether you’re transferring a license from out of state or out of the country, you’ll need to have passed both practical and written exams to receive your Colorado cosmetology license. If you have not passed one or both of these exams, then you’ll need to submit an application for license by examination.
You can begin working as a cosmetologist as soon as you receive your Colorado cosmetology license. The license allows you to work in any licensed cosmetology salon or shop.
License renewal happens every two (2) years. If you receive your license less than 120 days before the next renewal period, then your renewal date is automatically set to the following period. Colorado does not require continuing education to renew your license.
Ready to get started? Browse accredited Colorado cosmetology schools.